Welcome to my blog!

I’ve started this blog to create a place to make book recommendations and give writing tips. I also plan to share information on writing retreats, writing conferences, author events/signings, and anything else that pertains to a literary life.

As a writer, editor and avid reader I have a deep love for the written word and a deep respect for those who can use it effectively. I have a long list of books that I absolutely adore. I have a long list of authors I admire. For the record, I am of the opinion that you can admire a writer’s talent without necessarily liking the types of books they write. I will try to make my recommendations from as many different genres as I can.

The opinions I share may not agree with yours.  I have often ended up railing against books on the bestseller list and loving books that not many people know about, but the reverse is also true.  It’s just opinion and we all get different things from the books we read. American writer Edmund Wilson said that no two persons ever read the same book. Everyone’s perspective colors their perceptions of the books they read. No opinion is wrong. It’s just unique.

Writing is one of those professions that requires a lot of commitment. A writer must at once be knowledgeable about people, character, and place, and must also very often stand separate from all of these in order to have the time to write. Fiction, non-fiction, or memoir whatever the genre, the one thing all good stories have in common is that at the heart of the story, it’s about people.

Writers are able to find all sorts of reasons not to write. Lack of time, the need to do more research, writer’s block, a computer crash that destroys your perfect draft are some common excuses. I’m going to try to share the tips and tricks that I have learned from trial and error as well as from other writers to keep you on track and help you write whatever project is dear to your heart. Here’s the first tip, you need to find what works for you. I’m here to help.

So that’s the point of this blog. Books and writing. Writing and Books. What do they have in common? Words.

“Words are pale shadows of forgotten names. As names have power, words have power. Words can light fires in the minds of men. Words can wring tears from the hardest hearts.”
― Patrick RothfussThe Name of the Wind

 

Leave a Reply

